You can find on this page the Greece region map to print and to download in PDF. The Greece political map presents states, regions, provinces and surrounding areas of Greece in Europe.

Greece regions map

Map of Greece areas

The Greece regions map shows surrounding areas and provinces of Greece. This administrative map of Greece will allow you to know regions of Greece in Europe. The Greece regions map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

Since the Kallikratis programme reform entered into effect on 1 January 2011, Greece consists as its mentioned in Greece regions map of thirteen regions subdivided into a total of 325 municipalities. The 54 old prefectures and prefecture-level administrations have been largely retained as sub-units of the regions. Seven decentralized administrations group one to three regions for administrative purposes on a regional basis. There is also one autonomous area, Mount Athos (Greek: Agio Oros, "Holy Mountain"), which borders the region of Central Macedonia.

Greece formal region is parliamentary republic. Greece is known as the birthplace of democracy. The primary functional region of Greece is it is capitol city of Athens. Greece relative location is on the southeastern region of the European continent. The Association of Greek Regions has members of the 13 Regions of Greece as you can see in Greece regions map.

The largest region in the whole of Greece as its shown in Greece regions map is Macedonia encompasses much of the northern realms of the country. The main attraction in the region of Thessaly are the incredible mountaintop monasteries at Meteora, which are breathtakingly beautiful. There plenty of history to discover throughout the region of Epirus, with the fantastic walled city of Ioannina and the Bridge of Arta among its main draws. Central Greece is bordered on three sides by water; the Ionian Sea lies to its west, the Corinthian Gulf to its south, and the Aegean Sea to its east.

Greece political map

Map of Greece administrative

The Greece political map shows regions and provinces of Greece. This administrative map of Greece will allow you to show regions, administrative borders and cities of Greece in Europe. The Greece political map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

Prior to the 2012 elections the characteristic Greek political system was a two-party system (see Greece political map). The historically dominant parties have been New Democracy and the Panhellenic Socialist Movement. Under the current electoral system a party needs to surpass a 3% threshold in the popular vote in order to enter parliament, and the largest party gets a 50-seat bonus (out of 300 seats) ostensibly to ensure elections return viable governing majorities.

In the Parliamentary elections held in 2009, five political parties entered parliament: New Democracy (ND), the Panhellenic Socialist Movement (PASOK), the Communist Party of Greece (KKE), the Coalition of the Radical Left (SYRIZA) and the Popular Orthodox Rally (LA.O.S.). In the 2012 elections, seven political parties as its mentioned in Greece political map entered the parliament: ND, SYRIZA, PASOK, AnEl, KKE, Golden Dawn, and DimAr.

The Politics of Greece takes place in a parliamentary representative democratic republic, whereby the Prime Minister of Greece is the head of government, and of a multi-party system as you can see in Greece political map. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Hellenic Parliament. Between the restoration of democracy and the Greek government-debt crisis the party system was dominated by the liberal-conservative New Democracy (Νέα Δημοκρατία – Nea Dimokratia) and the social-democratic Panhellenic Socialist Movement (Πανελλήνιο Σοσιαλιστικό Κίνημα – Panellinio Sosialistiko Kinima, ΠΑΣΟΚ/PASOK). The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

Greece states map

Map of Greece states

The Greece states map shows all departments and regions of Greece. States map of Greece will allow you to know areas and cities of Greece in Greece. The Greece states map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

The states of Greece (Greek: επαρχία, "eparchy") were sub-divisions of some the country prefectures as its shown in Greece states map. From 1887, the states were abolished as actual administrative units, but were retained for some state services, especially finance services and education, as well as for electoral purposes. Before the Second World War, there were 139 provinces, and after the war, with the addition of the Dodecanese Islands, their number grew to 147.

According to the Article 7 of the Code of Prefectural Self-Government (Presidential Decree 30/1996), the provinces constituted a "particular administrative district" within the wider "administrative district" of the prefectures. The states were finally abolished after the 2006 local elections (see Greece states map), in line with Law 2539/1997, as part of the wide-ranging administrative reform known as the "Kapodistrias Project", and replaced by enlarged municipalities (demoi).

There grew to be over 1,000 city-states in ancient Greece, but the main poleis were Athína (Athens), Spárti (Sparta), Kórinthos (Corinth), Thíva (Thebes), Siracusa (Syracuse), Égina (Aegina), Ródos (Rhodes), Árgos, Erétria, and Elis as you can see in Greece states map. Each city-state ruled itself. They differed greatly from the each other in governing philosophies and interests.